Guevarra, Romeo, Fortuna to defend PBA skills titles | Inquirer Sports

Guevarra, Romeo, Fortuna to defend PBA skills titles

/ 09:37 PM July 28, 2016

Terrence Romeo. Photo by Tristan Tamayo/

Terrence Romeo. Photo by Tristan Tamayo/

Rey Guevarra, Terrence Romeo, and Jeric Fortuna will all be gunning to defend their skills championship when the 2016 PBA All-Star Friday rolls on at Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Guevarra is eyeing his third Slam Dunk Competition trophy after taking home the plum last year in Palawan.
However, budding stars are out to push the Bolts forward out of his throne.

TNT’s Moala Tautuaa, Meralco’s Chris Newsome, NLEX’s James Forrester, Ginebra’s Franklin Bonifacio, and possibly a handful players from the PBA D-League will challenge Guevarra in this year’s contest.


Meanwhile, Romeo is hoping for another sensational All-Star Weekend as he guns for back-to-back Three Point Shootout titles.

Star’s James Yap, who was last year’s runner up, is hoping to take the crown this time out against a younger counterpart.

But it will not just be him, as a tough field banner the competition.

Rain or Shine’s Jeff Chan, San Miguel’s Alex Cabagnot, Alaska’s RJ Jazul, Ginebra’s Jayjay Helterbrand, Blackwater’s Almond Vosotros, Mahindra’s Nino Canaleta, Meralco’s Jared Dillinger, NLEX’s Garvo Lanete, Phoenix’s Simon Enciso, and TNT’s Troy Rosario will all stake their claim for the right to be called as this year’s Three-Point King.


After winning the title in San Miguel, Jeric Fortuna also wants to keep his name as the league’s best speedster as he defends the Obstacle Challenge crown.

Ginebra’s Scottie Thompson, San Miguel’s Chris Ross, Star’s Mark Barroca, Alaska’s Chris Banchero, Rain or Shine’s Maverick Ahanmisi, and Phoenix’s Mark Cruz are all expected to be the favorites to unseat the diminutive Batang Pier guard.


Other participants include Blackwater’s Carlo Lastimosa, Mahindra’s LA Revilla, NLEX’s Emman Monfort, Meralco’s Chris Newsome, and TNT’s Jai Reyes.

The Friday showcase will also see the annual Blitz Game, where legends, current PBA players, and a handful D-League aspirants comprise the Greats and Stalwarts teams.

The Greats will be led by young guns Maverick Ahanmisi, Kevin Alas, Anthony Semerad, and Ian Sangalang, D-League players Ed Daquioag, Mac Belo, Roger Pogoy, and Jonathan Grey, and greats Noli Locsin, Bong Ravena, Johnny Abarrientos, and Paolo Bugia.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

They will be facing off against the Stalwarts, led by Chris Banchero, LA Revilla, David Semerad, and Raymond Almazan, D-League stars Mike Tolomia, Russel Escoto, Carl Bryan Cruz, and Raphael Banal, and stalwarts Alvin Patrimonio, Nic Belasco, Ronnie Magsanoc, and Topex Robinson.

TAGS: Jeric Fortuna, PBA, Rey Guevarra, Sports, Terrence Romeo

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.