Ateneo clips Adamson in series opener | Inquirer Sports

Ateneo clips Adamson in series opener

By: - Reporter / @jwpayoINQ
/ 11:53 PM May 15, 2011

ATENEO rose from a disastrous first set to stun Adamson, 23-25, 25-18, 25-20, 25-20, yesterday and move within a win of claiming the 8th Shakey’s V-League first conference championship.

The Lady Eagles recovered from an early meltdown with Kesinee Lithawat, Fille Cainglet and Alyssa Valdez powering Ateneo through in Game 1 of the best-of-three title series at the packed FilOil-Flying V Arena in San Juan.

Kesinee, the Thai import named as the conference MVP, had seven blocks in a match-high 24 points; Cainglet fired 22 points, including 20 spikes, and Valdez tossed in 19.

“With what happened, I believe that we can [win the crown],” said Ateneo rookie coach Charo Soriano of the underdog Lady Eagles, who lost the first set despite moving within two points of clinching it.


Ateneo will shoot for its first crown and spoil Adamson’s repeat title bid at 4 p.m. tomorrow also in San Juan.

Earlier, University of St. La Salle downed National University, 16-25, 25-15, 25-23, 25-22, in Game 1 of the best-of-three battle for third place.

Kesinee, also the MVP in the 2007 second conferene, is only the third player to win the league’s top individual award twice after Mary Jean Balse and Suzanne Roces

Two other Ateneo players bagged individual honors with Cainglet picking up the Most Improved Player award and Denden Lazaro as Best Receiver.

Adamson had two winners in Nene Bautista as Best Attacker and May Macatuno as Best Setter. Rounding out the awardees were St. La Salle’s Patty Orendain (Best Scorer) and April Hingpit (Best Server), National’s Dindin Santiago (Best Blocker) and Jen Reyes (Best Digger).

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Adamson, Ateneo, Volleyball

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.