Petron gets revenge, thwarts F2 for PSL Grand Prix crown

/ 08:31 PM May 05, 2018

Photo by Tristan Tamayo/

Petron avoided a repeat of last year and took down fierce rival F2 Logistics, 25-19, 25-20, 22-25, 25-18, in a deciding Game 3 to win the 2018 Philippine Superliga Grand Prix title Saturday night before a raucous crowd at Smart Araneta Coliseum.

American imports Katherine Bell and Lindsay Stalzer teamed up in the fourth set to weather the Cargo Movers’ rally.


Back-to-back hits by Stalzer put Petron in front by six, 22-16, before Bell put the exclamation point with a crosscourt spike.

The Blaze Spikers, who lost to the Cargo Movers in the finals last year in the same conference, won their fourth championship overall but not without any anxious moments.

“Actually, there were moments in the game where there were a lot of things going through my mind. Honestly speaking, I was thinking about what’s going to happen,” said Petron head coach Shaq delos Santos in Filipino. “Will it be fate or will last year happen again?”

The Blaze Spikers got off to a fast start in the fourth set, taking a 12-2 lead, but the Cargo Movers refused to fold, cutting the deficit to just three, 16-13, before Bell and Stalzer restored order.

“Good thing, we not worked on our skills also the mental aspect of the game,” said delos Santos.

Remy Palma added 10 points while Mika Reyes and Aiza Maizo-Pontillas chipped in seven and six points, respectively for Petron. Rhea Dimaculangan outplayed F2’s newly-minted Best Setter Kim Fajardo with 29 excellent sets.

MJ Perez, last year’s MVP, led F2 Logistics with 19 points while Kennedy Bryan tallied 12 and Ara Galang scored 10.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: 2018 PSL Grand Prix, F2 Logistics Cargo Movers, Game 3, MJ Perez, Petron Blaze Spikers, Philippine Superliga, PSL, PSL Finals, Volleyball
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.