Thursday, October 18, 2018
  • share this

Cayco elected LVPI president

By: - Reporter / @BLozadaINQ
/ 01:29 AM August 03, 2018

Larong Volleyball ng Pilipinas Inc., elected Arellano University’s Peter Cayco as its new president Thursday at Arellano University-Taft.

Cayco, who is Arellano’s AVP for Administration and LVPI’s former vice president, replaced former president Joey Romasanta who held the post for three years.


Romasanta, who was voted as the new vice president, said the LVPI will be in good hands under Cayco’s presidency.

“We are very fortunate that a very able president is now leading the LVPI,” said Romasanto of Cayco who was voted unanimously into the position.


“The first order of the day, as much as we wanted to increase the number of membership before, we opted to have our elections first.”

Romasanta added that new associations like the National Athletic Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities and Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation Inc. are lining up to join the LVPI, the country’s volleyball governing body as recognized by the Philippine Olympic Committee.

Cayco said that as president, he will continue what Romasanta had done before him.

“We’ll buckled down to business continuing the program set by Mr. Romasanta,” said Cayco. “Whatever he did during his tenure, we will just continue it.”

LVPI, which was formed in 2015, replaced the Philippine Volleyball Federation as the national sports association for volleyball in the same year.

And it was under the LVPI, and Romasanta, that saw the Philippines get back to the international stage in volleyball.

The LVPI formed the men and women’s teams that played in the 2015 Southeast Asian Games in Singapore and that marked the Philippines’ return in the regional sporting meet after a decade.


It was also the LVPI that created the team that competed in the 2015 AVC Asian Women’s U23 Volleyball Championship and in the AVC Asian Senior Women’s Volleyball Championship in 2017.

And for the first time in 36 years, the Philippines will send a representative to the Asian Games volleyball tournament.

Philippine Superliga’s Ariel Paredes was named as the secretary-general, Col. Jeff Tamayo was voted as the association’s treasurer, and General Benjamin Espiritu of the AFP (Reserve) was elected as the chairman of the board.

Rod Roque, Dr. Ian Laurel, and Atty. Mon Malinao were named as members of the board.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Larong Volleyball ng Pilipinas Inc., Peter Cayco, Sports
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.