Jerwin Ancajas, Michael Dasmariñas, Vic Saludar share spotlight as Boxers of the Year

/ 02:16 AM March 26, 2019
19th Gabriel Flash Elorde Awards

Boxers of the Year Vic Saludar, left, Jerwin Ancajas, middle, and Michael Dasmariñas raise their awards during the 19th Gabriel “Flash” Elorde Boxing Awards at Okada Manila. Photo by Tristan Tamayo/INQUIRER.net

Philippine boxing’s best led by Jerwin Ancajas, Vic Saludar and Michael Dasmariñas were feted in the 19th Gabriel “Flash” Elorde Boxing Awards Banquet of Champions Monday night at Okada Manila in Parañaque City.

Ancajas, the IBF super flyweight champion, Saludar, the WBO minimumweight titleholder, and Dasmariñas, the International Boxing Organization bantamweight champion, took center stage as they received the evening’s top honor as Boxers of the Year for 2018.


The 27-year-old Ancajas successfully defended his belt three times last year, which began with a 10th round stoppage of Israel Gonzalez. He then, followed it up with a lopsided decision over compatriot Jonas Sultan in May before settling for a split draw against Alejandro Santiago of Mexico in September.

“Getting another opportunity to be named as one of the Boxers of the Year is a big achievement for me,” said Ancajas, who received the distinction for the third straight time, in Filipino.


Ancajas shared the limelight with Saludar, who captured the WBO minimumweight belt last July when beat Japanese fighter Ryuya Yamanaka in Kobe, Japan, and Dasmariñas, who is bound for a world title shot.

Dasmariñas also won the IBO crown last year after knocking out Frenchman Karim Guerfi in the fourth round.

“I’m very happy to be recognized with Filipino world champions as Boxer of the Year,” said Dasmariñas.

The 26-year-old Dasmariñas proved he’s worthy of that honor after earning an IBF bantamweight world title shot following a unanimous decision victory over compatriot Kenny Demecillo on Saturday.

Boxing’s only eight-division world champion Manny Pacquiao was also given an Award of Distinction as an Elorde Hall of Famer as well as Donnie Nietes, the longest reigning Filipino world champion, and four-division titleholder Nonito Donaire Jr.

Pacquiao’s best friend and longtime cornerman Buboy Fernandez was recognized as Best Trainer.

Other awardees include amateur boxing stars Rogen Ladon and Nesthy Petecio, who were named Best Male Boxer and Best Female Boxer, respectively while rising bantamweight Carl Jammes Martin was cited as Most Promising Boxer.


The 19-year-old Martin, who hails from Lagawe, Ifugao, owns an undefeated record of 12 wins, 11 of which by knockout. He won the WBO Oriental Youth and WBA Asia bantamweight belts last year.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Banquet of Champions, Boxing, Donnie Nietes, Gabriel Flash Elorde Awards, Jerwin Ancajas, Manny Pacquiao, Michael Dasmariñas, Vic Saludar
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.