PBA suspends referee, table official for blunder on Rome Dela Rosa's three | Inquirer Sports

PBA suspends referee, table official for blunder on Rome Dela Rosa’s three

By: - Reporter / @BLozadaINQ
/ 04:53 PM May 03, 2019

MANILA, Philippines—The PBA has passed down the sentences to a couple of game officials who worked on Game 7 of the Philippine Cup semifinals series between Magnolia and Rain or Shine.

The league office suspended referee Sherwin Pineda for two games and table official Carlo Santos, who operated the 24-second shot clock, for one game following the controversy in the deciding match.

Magnolia won Game 7, 63-60, to earn a trip to the finals against San Miguel.

READ: Magnolia rallies to beat Rain or Shine in Game 7, books finals rematch 

FEATURED STORIES

In that game, Rome Dela Rosa was given the three-point field goal that gave the Hotshots the 53-50 lead with 3:30 left but video replays showed that the ball was still in his hands when the shot clock went off.

Unfortunately for Rain or Shine, the shot wasn’t reviewable since it happened before the final two minutes of the game.

League rules say that an official review would only be used for shots taken in the final two minutes.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Magnolia Hotshots, PBA Philippine Cup, Rain or Shine Elasto Painters, Sports

© Copyright 1997-2024 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.