Close  

ONE: Folayang scores technical decision after accidental headbutt

By: - Reporter / @BLozadaINQ
/ 10:59 PM November 08, 2019


MANILA, Philippines—Former ONE World lightweight champion Eduard Folayang earned a technical decision win over Mongolia’s Amarsanaa Tsogookhuu in the co-main event of ONE: Masters of Fate Friday at Mall of Asia Arena.

ADVERTISEMENT

Folayang and Tsogookhuu’s heads collided accidentally midway through the second round. Referee Kemp Cheng called for injury time after the Filipino bled profusely from a cut under his left eye.

Cheng then called for a technical decision after video replays showed that the headbutt was accidental, awarding Folayang (22-8) his first win this year.

FEATURED STORIES

Folayang had control for much of the fight using his kicks to keep Tsogookhuu (6-5) at bay.

In the previous bout, Sanmanee Sathian Muaythai secured a unanimous decision win over Aziz Hlali in a catchweight bout (68 kilograms) in the Muay Thai event of the Super Series.

Read Next
LATEST STORIES
MOST READ
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Amarsanaa Tsogookhuu, Eduard Folayang, One Championship, Sports, Team Lakay
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.


© Copyright 1997-2019 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.