Ronald Lomotos claims Ronda Pilipinas crown | Inquirer Sports

Ronald Lomotos claims Ronda Pilipinas crown

/ 03:14 PM March 20, 2022
Ronald Lomotos Ronda Pilipinas

Ronald Lomotos celebrates after winning the overall title at the 11th LBC Ronda Pilipinas. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

MANILA, Philippines — Ronald Lomotos of Navy Standard Insurance made his victory ride in the 3.1-kilometer Stage 10 to capture the 11th LBC Ronda Pilipinas crown on Sunday at Burnham Park in Baguio.

Lomotos, wearing the red jersey after a crucial win in Stage 9, was with the group that included his team captain and closest pursuer Ronald Oranza when he pedaled his way to the finish line at 20th place in an hour, 17 minutes and 50 seconds.


The 27-year-old clocked an aggregate time of 35:31:38 to beat Oranza, who finished second with an accumulated time of 35:31:59, and bring home the Ronda crown and one million pesos.

“I still can’t believe I’m now LBC Ronda Pilipinas champion,” said Lomotos, who finished second overall behind Navy teammate George Oconer two years ago.


Oranza, the 2018 winner, was met by his whole family after falling to second place. He wore the red jersey from Stage 6 until the penultimate stage, where Lomotos snatched the lead and clinched the title.

The 29-year-old received P400, 000 as the runner-up and a special award, Twin Cycle Gear King of the Mountain.

Lomotos and Oranza led Navy Standard Insurance to its seventh Ronda team crown with a total clocking of 103:56:27.

Ronald Lomotos Ronda Pilipinas


The Navy men had three racers ending up in the top 10 with El Joshua Carino finishing at No. 3 (35:50:32), MVP Under-23 and Gogo Express Top Rookie Jeremy Lizardo at No. 4 (35:50:43) and John Mark Camingao at No. 10 (36:12:17).

The other top 10 finishers were Excellent Noodles’ Joshua Mari Bonifacio (35:51:46), Go for Gold’s Jonel Carcueva (35:53:57), Excellent Noodles’ Jan Paul Morales (35:55:23) and Joshua Pascual (35:56:34) and Team Nueva Ecija’s Marcelo Felipe (35:58:53).

Felipe also won the Standard Insurance Sprint King award.

Excellent Noodles, managed by Alex Billan, finished second in the team race in 35:56:34 while sending 12 of its riders to podium finishes including six stage wins that was capped by Ryan Tugawin’s victorious Stage 10 effort in 1:17:15.


“Having riders in the podium finish in all 10 stages and ending up second overall is already a blessing,” said Billan.

Oconer was second in Stage 10 with the same time while Go for Gold’s Ronnilan Quita finished third in 1:17:16.

Meanwhile, Excellent Noodles racing captain Santy Barnachea bid farewell in cycling after leading his team in Ronda’s return this pandemic.

“I’m retiring after 25 years in cycling, I will focus on coaching,” said the 47-year-old two-time Ronda winner.


Ronda Pilipinas: Ronald Lomotos takes overall lead, rules stage 9

Get the hottest sports news straight into your inbox

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Ronald Lomotos, Ronda Pilipinas
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our sports news

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2022 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.