Ateneo Blue Eagles, NU Lady Bulldogs look to extend UAAP 3x3 reign | Inquirer Sports

Ateneo Blue Eagles, NU Lady Bulldogs look to extend UAAP 3×3 reign

/ 07:13 PM June 01, 2022

UAAP finally resumes in March.

UAAP 3×3 basketball returns. –INQUIRER FILE

MANILA, Philippines — Ateneo Blue Eagles seek to defend their crown in the UAAP Season 84 men’s 3×3 basketball tournament while National University Lady Bulldogs eye ‘three-peat’ in the women’s division on Thursday at Casobe Resort in Calatagan Batangas.

Ateneo is going to field Chris Koon, Geo Chiu, Inand Fornilos, and JC Fetalvero, with Sean Quitevis as reserve player in the return of the 3×3 tournament, which it won in the previous edition last 2019.

Standing in its way is University of the Philippines, which captured the men’s basketball tournament crown in dramatic fashion last month. The Fighting Maroons are banking on Gerry Abadiano, Harold Alarcon, AJ Madrigal and Brix Ramos, with Bismarck Lina and RC Calimag serving as reserves.


Inaugural UAAP 3×3 champion Far Eastern University has Patrick Sleat, Ximone Sandagon, Joseph Celzo, and Rodel Gravera on its roster with Aeron Bagunu and Reymark Rosete as reserve players.

La Salle parades Emman Galman with Ralph Cu, Donn Lim, and Ben Phillips, with Deo Cuajao and Paul Turco as reserves, while University of Santo Tomas fields Sherwin Concepcion, Nic Cabanero, Bryan Santos, and Royce Mantua, with Ian Herrera as alternate.

Adamson has Joshua Yerro, Jhon Calisay, Joseph Fuentebella, and Ivan Maata, with brothers Vince and Wilfrey Magbuhos as back-ups; and National University has Jolo Manansala, Germy Mahinay, Patrick Ramos, and Terrence Crisostomo with Jake Figueroa as reserve.


Meanwhile, the Lady Bulldogs begin its post-coach Pat Aquino-era in the 3×3 court as Camille Clarin, Ann Pingol, Kristine Cayabyab and Angelica Surada gun for the school’s third consecutive crown in women’s 3×3.

Adamson, which settled for back-to-back runner-up finishes in the past two editions, tries to get over the hump with Katrina Agojo, Leslie Flor, Dindy Ellaine Medina, and Crisnalyn Padilla, with Kristine Claire Dela Cruz as reserve.


Ateneo has Jhazmin Joson, Lettice Miranda, Dyna Nieves, and Sandra Dela Cruz with Ylyssa Eufamiano and Alexaandrea Gastador as alternates; La Salle has Kreecie Binaohan, Rossini Espinas, Marga Jimenez, and Angel Quingco; FEU parades Mikee Antonio, Julienne Manguiat, Danica Pacia, and Camille Taguiam with Angela Alano and Joann Mae Nagma as reserves; UP boasts Christie Bariquit, Justine Domingo, Stifanny Larrosa, and Acrissa Maw with Sophia Rivera as back-up; and UST is composed of Agatha Bron, Reynalyn Ferrer, Jovylyn Pangilinan, and Angelika Soriano with Ana Mar Tacatac and Erika Danganan as alternates.

University of the East didn’t participate in the event.

The seven schools will clash in a single round-robin format, with the top four teams reaching the semifinals round.


UAAP goes back to its roots with first 3×3 tournament

UAAP to stage 4 more events in Season 84 

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: UAAP Season 84

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.